About life, rivers and obligations in 2013

pic credit qutespictures.net

I’ve been missing for long now…riding the ol’ emotional roller coaster! And while I was gone, christmas whizzed past us and the world didn’t end. But a world ends everyday…kinda.
“No man can step into the same river twice, for it’s not the same river and he’s not the same man.”- Heraclitus
I’ve been rewiring my brain to this quote, and I must say, it’s liberating! 
It’s the change we struggle to accept, the change in beyond-our-control circumstances, the temporary status of our relationships, the undo-able onset of diabetes, the taking over of flexibility by rigidity, the indifference of people we love, the death of our old selves…some times we hope things would change back. But they don’t, they can’t. Even if we get it back…something that we had before, it isn’t the same.
It is always a new day.

A new world begins with every sunrise. But we carry our burdens for so long that we fail to see that we are not obliged to do so, we actually have the choice to leave them where they belong…in yesterday. We can make new choices everyday.
No matter how late the start, it’s a start alright. And a new year is a good excuse to do that!

So this New year, I have a new understanding of the word ‘obligation’ and it’s making me very happy 😉 I wanted to wait a good 20 days before I wrote about this, just to make sure I’ve actually got this, you know?

I am not obliged to remain angry at the ones who hurt me.
Or feel responsible for them having a bad day, or be there for them when they have a bad day! I am not obliged to feel anything that I don’t want to feel. The pain that binds me to them can be allowed to pass.

I am not obliged to cry over the same heartbreak over and over again, just the way I don’t laugh at the same joke over and over again.
It’s gonna get boring eventually! Let ‘eventually’ be today.

I am not obliged to keep the parts of me that have died.
Shed. Keep nurturing, a wonderful new you will blossom.

I am not obliged to feel ashamed or bad about myself coz I made another mistake!
I can wear my scars proudly like a warrior! Deep wounds may break us, but the new person that emerges will be unbelievably stronger.

Although….

I am obliged to acknowledge that I am not standing in a stagnant pool, but a flowing river that goes as it comes…and because it will continue to do so for as long as I live, I am obliged to be grateful for the simple fact that I have been given another shot at a brand new life 😉

Happy 2013 y’all!

6 thoughts on “About life, rivers and obligations in 2013

  1. Serendipity is such an amazing thing! This past week I have been pondering a variation on the quote that goes:
    “This river I stand in is not the river I stepped in.”
    It has been such a helpful thought to hold and move me forward…
    Thanks for this post!

    1. I believe this isn’t the first time we’ve reached into the same ‘part’ of the collective consciousness 🙂 Wonderfully serendipitous indeed, Thank you Merlin!

Leave a Reply

